top of page
Search
  • helenb19

Finding Positivity and That Healthy Glow


I started blogging a few years ago, because

I couldn’t find up-lifting, relaxing reading easily.

It also became challenging to find positive movies and TV shows.

Even as an octogenarian, I still seek wonderful role models

via all forms of media. It’s great to learn better ways of being,

and cheerful communication can do that.


I grew up in an era where positivity and a happy glow were plentiful in motion pictures, TV, and literature.


A long time fan of the positive, I found I was in need of reading good words and positive reinforcement,

the genre one could easily ascertain from books and entertainment in my youth. From the time I was a little girl,

I loved novels and shows that gave joy.


Not being a novelist, script writer, or creator of literary heroes, I decided to be a recorder of what

I saw that I believed was inspiring; I found it in wonderful people who were gracious, humorous,

and thoughtful. They became my inspiration.


If what I saw in real life affected me positively, perhaps they would affect others the same way.


And so my blogs began.


I started writing to you, because as Anne of Green Gables put it,

we are “Kindred Spirits.”

Consider this blog dedicated to you; you, who are reading this right now.

You lift my heart by way of your wonderful attitude and your exceptional deeds.


What exactly is a person’s manner that strikes me as wonderful?


A recent text I received from a young reader best explains

the thoughtfulness, traditions, and goodness I like to cite in my blogs.


This young lady is my daughter’s age, in her 50’s.

One of her daughters is a good friend of my granddaughter,

and this reader’s mother is my contemporary.


My young friend wrote about her appreciation of her mother.

She appreciated her mom’s thoughtfulness for all she did as a parent and a grandmother.

She explained that so much of who she is today, which is a lovely wife and a wonderful

mother of two lovely daughters in their early 20’s, was activated

by her mother’s loving acts throughout her life.


It was a glowing and wonderful share.

A member of the younger generation had

learned golden truths from her mother’s generation.

Her mom is a caring lady who can now see all these

lovely traits that she planted, reenacted in her

daughter and her daughter’s family.


The e-mail reflected love and respect;

the classic and unifying values she learned

from a generation that came before her.


How much we all learn from those who

have traveled life’s path before

we got to fulfill our own destiny.

The values shared of family, love, respectfulness,

and sincerity are enormous gifts, gifts to cherish, to use, and to pass on.


As all wise values, they are not new, but they are gloriously powerful.


This modern women, like her mother, is a builder of human nature to its highest level,

for she understands a life well lived is one that is lived with love and selfless caring for others.


I used to read this sparkling attitude in books like

“Please Don’t Eat The Daisies,” by Jean Kerr, an author

who wrote with wisdom sprinkled with humor.

Now, I get to see all these traits shining in real life,

and this became my aim for my blogs.


I wanted to share these wonder moments in my monthly communiqués.


I know you have had these special experiences too.


Good deeds are done by the people who are very present in our lives.


They know how to pass along the smiles in daily life.


They know how to share the good word and the lovely deed by the way they treat others.


They listen, they understand, and yes, they are exceptional and wise people.


You need a drive? They’re there.

You need a loving word?

They give it.

They share their wisdom and good humor and lift your heart.


They are the individuals who have empathy and they have compassion.

These are very precious gifts and very precious people

who instinctively leave you better than they found you.


You are those people I am talking about.

You are in the many blogs I’ve sent your way.


When I wrote this month’s blog, I knew I was communicating

with the loved people in my world who stamp our society

with all the goodness they can muster.


It is mirrored in all they do and say.

They are the givers of this world who focus on another’s well being.

A novelist could write a wonderful book about such people.

I hope one of you do exactly that.

As for me?



I am just a grateful observer who is forever learning from those

whose every act is touched with generosity and kindness.


Bright, happy stories are not as prevalent in print or on camera as

they once were, but the true stories of people who compose your life are!


The people I like to write about do the exceptional and sprinkle

their kindly magic on all whom they touch.

We all get to see them, learn from them, and note the

wonder of being a growing human being.


Others are watching and admiring and emulating

such individuals, people like you.

Such wonders pop into my world, and I am so happy when you do.

You have added admirably to the “real”

world all around us, and

I am forever grateful.


Happy February Everyone!

And Have A Happy Everyday!


Sent with much love,

Helene


76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page