top of page
Search
  • helenb19

The Exceptional Ones

There we were. 

My husband and I and friends scanning the menu at our local diner. 

The lovely waiter asked for our orders, 

and my husband asked for “onion soup without the onions.” 

We are married over 62 years; I thought I had heard him say just about everything, but this was a first for me: onion soup minus the onions.

Charles, my husband, loves the  basic flavor of French onion soup.

He loves the cheese on the top.

He loves the bread at the bottom, 

but he does not like the texture of

of the actual onions.

Our waiter smiled and I thought, “What a kind young man.”

I said to our kindly server, “This will make a good story when you go home tonight.

“Hey, today this guy asked for onion soup without the onions.” 

 

Our waiter, however, had a positive energy; he smiled, and said,

 “I’ll try to make that,” and so he did.

His jovial manner and inventive effort produced one traditional onion soup for our friend and one novel onion soup, without onions, for my husband; both men loved it!

We made a point of telling the diner’s owner what an exceptional waiter we had.

I began to think about what actually makes exceptional people, from the waiter who goes the extra mile to the family members who are supportive anchors in good moments as well as stressful ones, several traits came to mind.

I hope after you read my definition of the exceptional, you’ll let me know what yours is.

   “The Exceptional Ones”

1. I find people who give that uplifting smile, know how to go the extra mile for others in good times and hard ones, and try to brighten your world, are indeed exceptional.

2. And don’t you just love people whose ego has gone into retirement? When with you they know how to focus on you. They refrain from self talk and braggadocio. They are genuinely interested and happy for others, that is truly exceptional.

3. I think seeing the goodness in others, then accenting those traits, is an exceptional gift you give to others. Good teachers have always highlighted the best in their students, loving parents do this with their children, and successful people in your daily life have mastered this highlight. Listening to and watching these people spread their magic is indeed an exceptional experience.

4. Exceptional people know prayer is meaningful and are appreciative for all the good that comes their way. They are aware of the Divine and cherish that guiding force in their lives. They are also some of the most exceptional people I know.

I’m assuming you have your own wonder list of “Exceptionals,” and I can’t wait to read it.

As I have often blogged, I am an observer [Yes, even when I’m talking.] and learn from the exceptional people in my world. I love their values, their kindnesses, and their ability to be well wishers.

These are the individuals who don’t compete.

They don’t compare. 

They simply want those they know to have happiness. 

I love all their loving ways and have always learned from these special individuals.

I have learned from them that when you are open to the daily niceties, they often appear, and the exceptional people who bring those niceties are blessings in our lives.

So, march yourself right toward the smiling, loving, and helpful person you innately are and receive the blessing of being a part of the special world you help create.

Have a marvelous month of March!

Yours with love,

Helene

March, 2023

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page