top of page
Search
  • helenb19

Grandmothers

Of late, I have been thinking about my grandmothers. I had them for a very long time; one lived to the age of 99 and the other till 88.

They both came from  shtetls, [small Jewish towns or villages]: one from Russia, the other from Poland. 

They were among the many immigrants who found their way to this country.

Their dream? 

To give their future families a life of which these two ladies could only dream.  I am grateful for their decision.

Their lives were hard. 

One grandmother worked as a maid, 

the other as a chicken flicker [plucking chicken feathers]. 

For many years they were single parents raising their children. 

One weathered WW I in Europe; 

the other sent two sons to WW II who blessedly returned home to America.

Yet, while facing all this, they managed to leave words and deeds of illumination to a little girl [that would be me] who would listen and learn.

I watched with fascination as one grandmother, a superb seamstress, would create a beautiful wine velvet suit for me on a sewing machine that she peddled with her feet; there was no electricity needed there [that sewing device is now an antique].

I listened as this grandmother advised me that I would “know how to

talk to people.“

I’m not sure I knew exactly what that meant at the time, but I did know I liked people.

The other was very affectionate, loved to do my little girl hair, and giggle at everything I said. 

She would be quick to tell my younger brother that  he was “gorgeous.”

[He was and still is.] 

Then she would quickly add that I had “a good personality.”

I laughed and laughed. 

I thought those comments were hilarious; 

I still do.

Both filled me with their elderly wisdom and volumes of love.

I am forever thankful.

Now, here I am, hovering around that very time of life in the grammy role.

What beliefs do I hope to give to my grandchildren?

As always, a list magically appeared.

    A Grandmother’s Hopes For Her Grandchildren

I want my grandchildren to know they are loved and loved wisely.

I want them to make good choices in life: God guided choices.

    The better the choices, the better the outcomes.

I want them to have a great education for that is a

       beautiful gift you give to yourself and others; 

    the more degrees, the merrier ;-).

    

I want my precious ones to be KIND to everyone. 

For then, they will be a gift to all they meet and a gift to themselves.

I would like my grandchildren to read throughout their             

    lives; readers are life learners and life learners

    become very knowledgeable people.

We live in a country that encourages freedom of religion.

     I hope they take advantage of this gift and pray, know God, and live                   an ethical and moral life.

I hope they are always a part of a loving, thoughtful,

    family, for this will fulfill their personal world 

    and  make the world we all live in better.

Did my grandmothers know they would be the catalyst for these current thoughts?

You know, I think that somehow they did.

Thank you, most wonderful readers.

Thank you for listening!

Thank you for being there!

And mostly, thank you for adding to this world the way you do!

Happy Thanksgiving!  

Happy November!

Yours with love,

Helene

102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page